Skip to Content

News in Youth Services

Monday, January 25, 2016

2016 Newberry, Caldecott and Coretta Scott King Winners!

It's award season.  You may have seen the Golden Globes on TV recently or heard the nominees for the Oscars or Academy Awards.  Well, it's also time for some big book award announcements.  Last week the American Library Association named the winners for several major literary awards.   Drum roll please for the winner of the 2016 John Newberry Medal for most outstanding contribution to children's literature is.......
Matt de la Pena
Author Matt de la Pena is the first Latino author to win the 94-year old Newberry Medal.  Christian Robinson's illustrations explore race and class through the eyes of a young boy and his grandmother.  The prize is one of the most cherished among children's writers.  Last Stop on Market Street almost won two awards as it was the runner-up for the Caldecott Medal for the top illustrated book.  Which leads me to the unveiling of that prestigious award....let me hear another drum roll.........

The winner of the 2016 Caldecott Medal for best illustrated picture book is...
The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of 19th Century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott.  It
Sophie Blackall
is awarded each year to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.  This year's winning illustrator is Sophie Blackall, who you might recognize as the illustrator of the Ivy and Bean series.  Finding Winnie:  The True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear, written by Lindsay Mattick, is a story of the friendship and love shared between a solider and the real bear who inspired Winnie-the-Pooh, a children's classic.  The illustrations are done in her distinctive Chinese ink and watercolor art and portray a captivating view of the intimate and historical events that are perfect for a child's eye.  "Children will learn of Winnie's journey from the forests of Canada to the pages of the Hundred Acre Woods," states Caldecott Medal Committee Chair Rachel G. Payne.  If you don't know Winnie-the-Pooh, you need to stop by and grab the classic stories by A.A. Milne. 

And now, the final award.  The winner of the Coretta Scott King Award is.....(don't forget that drum roll)......

Rita Williams-Garcia
Rita Williams-Garcia has won her second Coretta Scott King Award in three years for the best book by an African-American writer.  Gone Crazy in Alabama is the third in the trilogy about the Gaither sisters, who travel from the streets of Brooklyn to spend the summer with their grandmother in the rural South.  Talk about culture shock!  Be sure to check out the other titles in the series, One Crazy Summer and P.S. Be Eleven.

The library has copies of these fabulous award winning books for your reading pleasure.  Just stop by and ask.  We would be happy to put them in your hands!

Winne-the-Pooh books
Ivy and Bean
Rita Williams-Garcia books
Matt de la Pena books 

Labels: , , , , ,

Blog Home

Get updates to
News in Youth Services
in your email

Book Links

Check out what we're reading
in Youth Services
in the original kids book blog

Blogger Book Club


Powered by Blogger